Kyriacos Athanasiou and David Fyhrie have been elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Kyriacos Athanasiou, professor and chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, was honored for his distinguished contributions to biomedical engineering and bioengineering, particularly for biomechanics-driven tissue regeneration, for leadership in engineering-in-medicine, and for commercial technologies based on his research. His laboratory focuses on the challenge of regenerating cartilage tissue.

David Fyhrie, professor of biomedical engineering and David Linn Endowed Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery, was honored for his distinguished contributions to computational and experimental biomedical engineering, particularly for novel contributions to the prediction and prevention of osteoporotic fracture, and for exploring new ways to treat musculoskeletal disorders.

Along with Katherine Ferrara and Michael Savageau, Athanasiou and Fyhrie will double to four the number of Biomedical Engineering professors who are AAAS Fellows.

Athanasiou and Fyhrie are among seventeen new Fellows at UC Davis this year. Find the full list of UC Davis 2012 Fellows here: